Skip to content Skip to footer
  • Author: Benedict Patrick
  • Series: Yarnsworld
  • Genre: Dark Fantasy
  • Age Range: Adult
  • Book Type: Ebook / Paperback / Audio
  • Published: September 26, 2018

Series Guide

  • Book 1: They Mostly Come Out at Night
  • Book 2: Where the Waters Turn Black
  • Book 3: Those Brave, Foolish Souls from the City of Swords
  • Book 4: From the Shadows of the Owl Queen’s Court
  • Book 5: To Dream and Die as a Taniwha Girl

About Series

The villagers of the forest seal themselves in their cellars at night, whispering folktales to each other about the monsters that prey on them in the dark. Only the Magpie King, their shadowy, unseen protector, can keep them safe.

However, when an outcast called Lonan begins to dream of the Magpie King’s defeat at the hands of inhuman invaders, this young man must do what he can to protect his village. He is the only person who can keep his loved ones from being stolen away after dark, and to do so he will have to convince them to trust him again.

They Mostly Come Out At Night is the first novel from Benedict Patrick’s Yarnsworld series. Straddling the line between fantasy and folklore, this book is perfect for fans of the darker Brothers Grimm stories.


  • Kelli Mowrey
    Posted June 16, 2021 12:23 am 0Likes

    This is a must read. Perfect for the fall.

    • Nils Odlund
      Posted June 16, 2021 12:44 am 0Likes

      Definitely, it’s the kind of book you’d read when the rain and wind hammers down on the window.

Comments are closed.